The Least of These











{June 2, 2009}   Summer Reads – Hearing God’s Call

 Titus may or may not be an authentic writing of Paul’s – however, whoever wrote it, certainly had some good advice to share. I have to say, that having a mentor in the faith has certainly always been a help to me in my walk with Christ. I may sometimes be a very frustrating person to deal with, but Lord knows she is indeed a very special person to be my mentor and very best friend for so very long.

Today, we talked for a very long time about my earlier blog – the importance of raising children. I look to her in a lot of things – and a lot of time, she is quite the inspiration on how she well organized she keeps her own children, family, and household. She’ll soon have three little ones under the age of three. Having had two children under the age of two – I can tell you, that is quite the feat. So we talked about inspiration, motivation, organization, and priorities. And of course – God, sacrifice, and daily living. It was an hour well spent.

So I pulled out some of my favorite reads on the topic:

Family Intergrated Church by J. Mark Fox

Family Driven Faith by Voddie Baucham, Jr. (a mover and a shaker in the Southern Baptist Convention!)

The Power of a Praying Parent by Stormie Omartin

Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp

Disiplines of Godly Woman by Barbara Hughes

Passionate Housewives Desperate for God by Jennie Chancey & Stacey McDonald

Created to be His Helpmeet by Debbie Pearl

Now I can tell you, a lot of these books are not popular – they discuss words like disipline and submission within marriage and gender roles which has fallen out of favor within our society. But these are great books and I plan to take time to read them all over again – or for the first time in some cases, this summer.

For those of you in Vegas – or even online, you are more than welcome to read along with me. I would welcome the company and any discussion that comes with it. I’m more than happy to open up my home once a week to anyone who wants to come over, have a snack, and discuss the book at hand.

It’s been awhile since I’ve felt a call this strong from God to really focus on something – and right now I feel that it’s time to really focus on being a God driven family. There’s not many of them in the world right now, and therefore, we are called to be lights in the darkness. To be centered around Christ and to shine Christ.

The first book I’ll be starting with will be J. Mark Fox’s Family Intergrated Church and moving down the list from there. Hope some of you will join me!

 

 



Barbie says:

I love you! This was heartwarming reading. Wish I could join!



Leave a comment

et cetera